• Main Menu
  • RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks)

    RAID stands for Redundant Array of Independent Disks and it basically involves combining two or more drives together to improve the performance and the fault tolerance. Combining two or more drives together also offers improved reliability and larger data volume sizes.  RAID distributes the data across several disks but the operating system considers this array a single disk.

    RAID Levels

    RAID 0

    RAID 0 uses data stripping as the data is broken into fragments while writing it to the drive. The fragments are then written to their disks simultaneously in the same sector. While reading, the data is read off the drive in parallel, so this type of arrangement offers huge bandwidth.

    A single disk failure destroys the entire array as it offers no fault tolerance and RAID 0 does not implement error checking.

    RAID 1

    RAID 1 uses mirroring to write the data to the drives. It also offers fault tolerance from the disk errors and the array continues to operate efficiently as long as at least one drive is functioning properly.

    RAID 2

    It uses Hamming Codes for error correction. In RAID 2, data transfer rates can be very high. This RAID level is no longer in use.

    RAID 3

    This level uses a dedicated parity disk instead of rotated parity stripes and offers improved performance and fault tolerance. The benefit of the dedicated parity disk is that the operation continues without parity if the parity drive stops working during the operation.

    RAID 4

    It is similar to RAID 3 but it does block-level stripping instead of the byte-level stripping and as a result, a single file can be stored in blocks. RAID 4 allows multiple I/O requests in parallel but the data transfer speed will be lower. Block level parity is used to perform the error detection.

    RAID 5

    RAID 5 uses block-level stripping with distributed parity and it requires all drives but one to be present to operate correctly. The reads are calculated from the distributed parity upon the drive failure and the entire array is not destroyed by a single drive failure. However, the array will lose some data in the event of the second drive failure.

    The above standard RAID levels can be combined together in different ways to create Nested RAID Levels which offer improved performance. Some of the Nested RAID Levels are –

    • RAID 0+1
    • RAID 1+0
    • RAID 3+0
    • RAID 0+3
    • RAID 10+0
    • RAID 5+0
    • RAID 6+0


    Got Something To Say:

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    One comment
    1. Yogesh Darwade

      9 October, 2011 at 4:50 pm

      In Windows 2008 Server,Raid 5 is configured with 10 HDD & Out of these 2 HDD get faild then Data Recovery is possible OR not?
      If yes,How ? 

    } 144 queries in 0.340 seconds.