• Main Menu
  • How to Delete Deleted Files Permanently


    Contrary to popular belief, deleting files from the Recycle Bin does not completely remove the file from the computer. Instead, deleting a file simply tells the computer that the memory it was using is no longer needed. When the computer needs the memory for other files, it overwrites the original information. However, until the file is overwritten with new data, it remains on the computer under a different name and can be restored using file recovery software. In order to completely remove a file, it is important that new data overwrites the file’s memory. This can be accomplished with any of the file shredders listed below.

     

    Delete Files Permanently

    Delete Files Permanently is a very straight forward file shredder that allows users to permanently erase the contents of any folder, hard drive, and USB drive, disk or other media device. Delete Files Permanently also allows users to choose a specific file to delete and runs in the computer background. Delete Files Permanently can run on most operating systems but is designed for Windows XP and Windows Vista. The software can be downloaded here.

     

    SDelete

    SDelete is a file shredder that essentially does the same thing as Delete Files Permanently, but relies on a command line utility rather than a graphical user interface. While Delete Files Permanently deletes files from a personal computer or server, SDelete is used in more technical situations that require pure commands. For example, SDelete can be used to erase content from a hard drive that has no operating system installed. SDelete can be found here.

    File Management
    } 107 queries in 0.550 seconds.